Android App Needs Location and Contact Permission
Android App Needs Location and Contact Permission
Does anyone know why the recently upgraded Android app needs location and contact permissions
Re: Android App Needs Location and Contact Permission
Got word from support in case anyone else had concerns
I apologize for the inconvenience the new update has caused you. The reason behind the location service permission is due to a new feature we implemented in the app where users can sync their time zone to the camera using their mobile device for the initial setup. Although the permission is only related to the camera's date and time we also understand the concerns on your privacy as well and will be looking into providing a more transparent information for our users.
We at Amcrest completely understand that you may not feel comfortable with these new changes so as a temporary solution to get this resolved you can disable the permission by going to your phone settings and turning off the permission for our app. If you require any assistance on turning off the permissions please contact the manufacturer of your mobile device as different brands may have a variety of settings that can be accessed on their smartphones.
Another method will also be to uninstall the app then click deny if the notice pops up again after opening the app. You may need to deny up to three times in a row as the app will ask you for confirmation on whether you would like to prevent it from accessing your location. Please also note that denying the permission does not affect the app in any way other than syncing the time zone.
I apologize again for the inconvenience and we are working on providing users with solutions for this issue as soon as possible.
I apologize for the inconvenience the new update has caused you. The reason behind the location service permission is due to a new feature we implemented in the app where users can sync their time zone to the camera using their mobile device for the initial setup. Although the permission is only related to the camera's date and time we also understand the concerns on your privacy as well and will be looking into providing a more transparent information for our users.
We at Amcrest completely understand that you may not feel comfortable with these new changes so as a temporary solution to get this resolved you can disable the permission by going to your phone settings and turning off the permission for our app. If you require any assistance on turning off the permissions please contact the manufacturer of your mobile device as different brands may have a variety of settings that can be accessed on their smartphones.
Another method will also be to uninstall the app then click deny if the notice pops up again after opening the app. You may need to deny up to three times in a row as the app will ask you for confirmation on whether you would like to prevent it from accessing your location. Please also note that denying the permission does not affect the app in any way other than syncing the time zone.
I apologize again for the inconvenience and we are working on providing users with solutions for this issue as soon as possible.